The BIG Difference between 2 little words

Have you ever been asked the question “What do you want to BE when you grow up?”. I think you have. Have you ever answered and been positively sure? I doubt that.

What I want to say here is, would our world be better if that question was abandoned and replaced with its sibling?

Would we DO more things better then just being the humans that invented global warming?

Are you wondering who What do you want to be’s sibling is?

The answer is:  WHAT DO YOU WANT TO DO?

My school has a public speaking competition and this was the topic I came up with. Here is a copy of my speech to make a little more sense of my introduction.

The BIG difference between 2 little words

There are 2 little words I want you to think about today which are BE and DO.

What do you want to BE when you grow up?

A shopkeeper? An artist? The Queen? Hmmmm maybe not.

I know that nearly every one in this room has been asked that very question at one point of your life, maybe by a parent, a grandparent or even by yourself but today I am going to be showing you another way of asking and answering the question.

I believe that no matter who you are you can DO absolutely anything.

For example you could BE a Dentist but you can change the world.

Today the question will not be “What do you want BE when you grow up? Instead the question will be “ What do you want to DO when you grow up?

Those two questions sound pretty similar but I am going to show you how different they really are.

The only thing that is different about the wording of these two questions is the words BE and DO. If you search up the word BE the definition is “to exist” and I think most of us in this room has already done that however when you search the word DO scroll past the noun “short form for hairdo”and you will find the definition “achieve and complete”. Look into DO a little further and you will find the definition of achieve which is “successfully reach a goal by effort, skill and courage”.

This means that if you DO what you want to do when you grow up you will achieve something but if you BE what you want to be when you grow up you’re most likely just going to exist.

What I want to DO when I grow up is to make a change for the common good. Some of you in my school house might have noticed that recently as House leader I have been coming with an esky of fruit instead of a box of lollies.  This is the beginning of what I want to do.  I have started small by changing a tradition that we would be better without.

The people who inspire me have stepped out no matter who they are to change something. The first person who inspires me is Lorna Jane, you might be going what? An outfit designer, a shop founder but Lorna Jane at the beginning of her career she stepped out and made boring active wear to colourful, bright and motivating clothes. She started her career at a gym when she decided that the boring work out clothes needed a change, so she went home and started sewing her bright activewear and then everyone in her gym class wanted some and now it has turned into a global craze with 215 stores world wide.

 The next person who inspires me is Malala Yousafzai who, as many of you know, stood up to change the Education rights for girls. Malala blogged about her life and how she was not able to go to school when she was 11 and 12. Her school and many others were closed down for the women and girls and she spoke out that all she wanted was to go to school. Although she was doing the right thing the government that was ruling over her country didn’t think so. The unfair government sent someone to kill Malala and they nearly did but Malala survived the gun shot and continued fighting for girls education rights. She finally got her recognition and won the Nobel Peace Prize.

Those people didn’t care what they were, they knew that they could do something to change the world.

So now I am going to correct my first words so “What do you want to DO when you grow up?” Well I know that when you do it you will certainly make a difference.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

